Getting to know me

justme
Just Me

Hello!

I wanted to start off this blog just right and make my first official post a little bit more personal. This is my chance to really put it all out there and let you, my readers, get to know the woman behind the digital screen and keyboard. Who am I, what else do I do besides blog, where am I from, any when questions if there are some and lastly, Why? So, lets get started!

If you’ve taken the time to read the About the Author page, you’ll already know my name is Danielle. I am the daughter of a retired navy vet aka Dad and an

siblings
Chelsea, Me, Kaitlyn, Alex

intelligent college graduate, majoring in business management aka Mom. Lets just say I come from a long line of military and intelligent people. I am also a sister to two sisters, and then the youngest of us all would be my brother, making me the head rooster. My first sister, Chelsea, has two boys making me an Auntie! My next sister, Kaitlyn, is a college graduate majoring in music and is a private lessons teacher. As I told you, a line of intelligent people. Lastly, certainly not least by any means, is my little brother Alex. He is in his last year of high school and looking to go into the medical field as a nurse.

maddynme
My (step) daughter and I

Now there’s me! I am a mommy of one with one on the way (due Feb 2017). I live in Texas with my hubby, Sean, and dog, Hiro. What about our other one? Well, she is technically my step daughter, his first child from his first marriage. That’s another thing, we are both divorce survivors! Not only are we both children from separated families, we have both been married, divorced and now have married each other, go figure? Its funny how the world works that way sometimes. Keep this little tid bit in mind for later!

Enough about me, what is this all about!? I’m glad you were thinking that. I decided to pick up blogging as a side quest in life. I feel like I have quite a few life experiences that many could benefit from and I enjoy helping people when and where I can. The only outlet I could think of where I could get what I know and what I’ve learned out to the world is the internet. So, I’ve started Bubbles N Carrots, a play off of something from my past.

seannme
The Hubs and I

Another thing you need to know about me is that I come from a Christian family and was raised with such values. I’m not here to argue religious virtues or values with anyone, but you should know this for where I’m going with this. Anyways, growing up my siblings and I got into the Veggie Tales series. I remember watching Josh and the Big Wall. This is a fun and silly retelling of Joshua leading the Israelites to back to the promise land and the only obstacle in their way is the city of Jericho. Also, if you’ve never seen the series, all the characters are fruits and vegetables which in turns add to the silliness of it all. Guarding the walls of Jericho are these French Peas who are throwing purple slushies at the Israelites as they march around the wall as God had instructed them to do for six days and to blow their horns on the seventh day. After all is said and done the walls were to come down. Well, the French Peas break out into song about how silly these veggies are to march around the wall and to keep getting hit by slushies. One French Pea says to the other at one point, “Ah, Pickles and Pea’s Phillipe!”

Well, its such a memorable line from the movie, whenever my siblings and I would get frustrated or in an instance where ‘Cset la vie’ would be used, we would exclaim, “Ah! Pickles and Peas!” Now, we’ve done this still from time to time even in our more adult years. When I was married to my first husband, I would even do it from time to time, and he had even heard my sisters and I amuse each other with it. Distinctly I remember he was in a situation where everything was just a mess and in frustration he exclaimed, “BUBBLES AND CARROTS!”. Needless to say I was a little perplexed and couldn’t help but laugh because I had no idea what was going on.

As soon as I had gotten a hold of myself, he asked me what was so funny. I asked him where he got the phrase bubbles and carrots from when he looked back at me a little confused himself. He truthfully thought bubbles and carrots was the phrase my siblings and I used. I told him the story and explained that it was pickles and peas not bubbles and carrots, however the damage was done and from then on I too ended up using bubbles and carrots.

So, this is why I have decided to use that as the name for this blog. It may stem from my past, but honestly it has a very funny beginning and goes to show how life can really be so topsy-turvy at times. My goals here are to write as continuously as possible about those little twists and turns with humor, kindness and encouragement. I never want to write from a negative stance, no matter how bad the situation might be. And who knows, maybe if I’m having a bad day, you can pick out the silver lining for yourself.

I want to encourage you to get involved here. Leave me comments. Let me know what you are thinking or perhaps even leave me a question. I would love to hear from you guys and know how far this thing reaches!

Until Next Time

-Danielle

10 thoughts on “Getting to know me

  1. reba September 22, 2016 / 1:33 am

    Awesome can’t wait to read the next one

    Like

    • Danielle September 22, 2016 / 1:46 am

      Thank you Reba! Looking forward to writing it!

      Like

  2. Kristin September 22, 2016 / 1:45 am

    Love it and can’t wait to read more Danie!!!

    Like

    • Danielle September 22, 2016 / 1:47 am

      Me neither! I have so many options, not sure which I want to write next!

      Like

  3. Denise September 23, 2016 / 1:59 am

    Nice work! So proud of you for stepping out in this, you are going to do great!

    Like

  4. The crazy Korean auntie Patti September 23, 2016 / 2:08 am

    I can’t wait to read about your crazy Korean auntie!! Proud of u Danielle!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

